KUALA LUMPUR: The new cabinet announced today will ensure that the government has the strength and unity to focus on development plans for Malaysia and the challenges ahead, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said.


In a posting on his Facebook page, Najib said following the democratic mandate given to the Barisan Nasional Government in the 2013 General Election, it is his duty to ensure that the Government delivers on its transformation programme.

Zahid is the new DPM

"This is not a gift, it is a responsibility."

Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi

"The Cabinet must act as one solid team. I welcome vigorous debate, and accept and tolerate criticism or even dissent. However, this process should take place in Cabinet as part of the decision-making process.


"Members of the Cabinet should not air their differences in an open forum that can affect public opinion against the Government and Malaysia. It is contrary to the concept of collective responsibility that is the foundation of Cabinet Government," he said.

Muhyiddin: I accept the decision.

Najib said the decision to replace Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin was very difficult, but leadership is about doing what you think is right.


"To deliver for Malaysia, I must have a solid and unified team moving in the same direction.


"Nevertheless, I thank Tan Sri Muhyiddin for all his work and dedication to the Government and country, as I do all those ministers who are no longer in the Cabinet," he added.


Najib said he believes that the new Cabinet line-up will drive forward the Government’s ability to deliver on its promises to the people at the last General Election.


"Nothing is more important than the needs of Malaysia and the people – I will always put their interests above all others.


"I am confident that, in time, this new Cabinet will increase public confidence in the Government and Barisan Nasional ahead of the 14th General Election," he said.

A DIVISION OF THE NEW STRAITS TIMES PRESS Interactive Bazuki Muhammad bazuki.com Words NST Team nst.com.my Pictures Asyraf Hamzah, Mohd Yusni Ariffin, Mohd Fadli Hamzah, Fariz Iswadi Ismail, Abd Rahim Rahmat nstpimages.com Videos NST Videos nst.com.my/videos